Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2013, 04:38 AM   #1

Default FW leaks when attached to City Water

Hello Everyone....As mentioned in a previous post (under Towing) I am new to the RV world. I purchased a 2011 Cruiser RV VF 21FB privately. I had a local RV service center de-winterwize it. And when I got it out on the road and in my first RV park I hooked up the City Water hose and immediately noticed that fresh water was spewing rather signficantly (steady leak under pressure) from the red and blue lower drain hoses under the RV.
When the City water pressure is turned off; the leaking stops.
I notified the RV dealer who had done the de-winterizing and he stated that there is possibly a valve to isolate the lower drain lines...however when I traced back the hoses it seems as though there is no isolation for these lower drains and that the only mechanism to isolate the leaks on both are the plugs which are screwed into each line. Is this typical?? I tried to remove and re-attach the scew plugs, but they still leak. They seem to leak around and 'through' the plug although it's difficult to know for sure.
Any ideas?? Have you encountered this?
Pam

phunter408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 02:56 PM   #2

I believe the 'plugs' you are referring to on the red and blue water lines are actually the 'low point drains' to drain all the water out of the lines.

The plugs, when installed properly, should show zero leakage. I'm thinking someone may have cross threaded the plugs and ruined the threads so they will not seal and hold water under pressure.

The 'fix' would be to replace the plugs and the connection they fit into on the hoses.

Just my thoughts without seeing photos.

Old 06-11-2013, 09:57 AM   #3