Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   FunfinderClub > Fun Finder Tech > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-17-2015, 08:00 AM   #1

Default Anti Sway bar vs weight distribution hitch?

Disclaimer: Total newbie!
I have a T139 (2006) pulled by 2104 Nissan Xterra. I do experience sway, especially on the coast or country roads. What's the difference between an Anti-sway and a weight distribution hitch? Does this little trailer need both? Thanks....
Liz

TAKL4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 12:44 PM   #2

If you have a trailer that has a lot of tongue weight or a tow vehicle that can't support much weight at the rear, then a weight distribution hitch will transfer some of the tongue weight forward onto the front axle of the tow vehicle. It "distributes" the trailer tongue weight more evenly across the tow vehicle's front and rear axles which help keep it more level which helps steering effectiveness and headlight aiming.