Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   FunfinderClub > Fun Finder Tech > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-08-2016, 12:22 PM   #1

Default new tow vehicle questions...

Hi everyone,
I have a fun finder 160X that I have been towing with a 2004 Nissan Pathfinder for the last 6 years. I always thought the Pathfinder was a little underpowered, so I sold it and bought a used 2014 Toyota Sequoia with a tow package.
It tows great! I have two questions, which I'm sure any gracious and knowledgeable person can answer:

with the new tow vehicle, i have the same pin configuration as my old vehicle. What i don't have is a brake controller in the cab. Are the electric brakes being used when I tow ( I really can't tell!) Should I have a brake controller unit installed in the cab of the sequoia?

the other question: the trailer is slightly higher in the front now when I tow, because the Sequoia is higher than the Pathfinder. Is this a problem? I towed my trailer to Big Sur and everything seemed to go well. Should I buy a different hitch so that it is perfectly level when I tow?

donkris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 02:29 PM   #2

Yes, you need to have a brake controller added to the new tow vehicle. A Tekonsha Prodigy is a popular choice, although there are others.

And yes, the end result of your setup should be a level trailer with a correctly set up weight distributing hitch. With sway control also.

My choice is a blueox swaypro, it incorporates both weight distribution and sway control. There are other brands also that work well.

gmw photographics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 04:51 PM   #3

With the 160 if you didn't have a weight distribution hitch before you probably won't need one now.