Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-02-2016, 03:27 PM   #1

Default Utilizing Gray Water

I think I already know the answer to my question, but ... I'm new to RV'ing, so just in case I'm missing something ...

So, my 2014 266KIRB has a 35 gallon black water tank and two 35 Gallon gray water tanks.

I've read a number of things online about using your gray water to flush your toilets. But I don't think my camper has any mechanism that would allow that.

Is there some sort of modification I'd have to do in order to utilize my gray water? Or am I missing something simple?

Thanks.

Tom

Thomas Aaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 03:36 PM   #2

The simplest is use a plastic bucket in the sink to catch that grey water and throw that water in the toilet. Also controversial and illegal in a lot of places but you could water the bushes with the captured grey water. Best done under cover of darkness.

Haole Hiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 04:01 PM   #3

Dumping gray water outside is illegal in most places (but not all). Be sure you know the rules -- the citation can be pretty hefty, especially in a national forest. (I do not know this from personal experience, but I have been told this is true.)

We sometimes dump gray water into the toilet with a bucket -- our gray tank is full after four or five nights of camping, and our black water tank is never full.
profdant139 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 05:46 PM   #4

I hadn't heard about using grey water to flush the toilet ~ only to dump the black water tank first and then dump the grey water tank to flush out the sewer line...but then it could be ?
Old 05-02-2016, 06:42 PM   #5

Well, when we are boondocking, we try to save drinking water (of course) -- so we sometimes use the gray water to flush the toilet. Why use pure water for that task?