Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2017, 09:50 AM   #1

Question Newbie in Fl

Hi! Just retired and bought 2014 23 fun finder. Total newbies, we are trying to learn as much as possible.

Our first trip will be north and the nights will be cold. Unfortunately, where we
are going this time will be dry camping.

We did get a Champion propane inverter generator, but we are wondering how much propane the heater will use and if the small 20 lb bottles will last through the night.

Does anyone have any experience they can share with us on this?

We are looking forward to learning from all you and maybe meeting some of you on the road.

Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:42 AM   #2

So, just how far north are you going and for how long?

Your propane inverter generator should have some mfg rating on fuel consumption.

As for the furnace and water heater on propane, the consumption is quite low has been my experience, however, don't have any exact consumption rating and have never used a full 30# bottle of propane in a camping season.

Propane is measured in British Thermal Units, or BTUs. Propane appliances use a certain amount of BTU per hour. And one gallon of propane has 91,574 BTUs. This gives you a vague idea of how much energy your propane appliances are likely to consume: their performance is measured in BTUs, whereas you buy propane at a certain price per gallon.

BTW: my fun finder came with two 30# propane tanks & I belive 60# of propane is equalivant to 14 gallons of propane.

Old 12-03-2017, 01:58 PM   #3

Only as far as Savannah Ga this time for two days.