Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-27-2013, 09:03 AM   #1

Default 189FBS Audio, Video, Network Modification

This is a project that I have been working on bit-by-bit for a couple of months now. I can't say that I really recommend taking on this project, but as an IT nerd, I looked at it as a challenge

I was pretty dissatisfied with the built in stereo / DVD combo and was looking to replace it with something better. When I started shopping around, I had no idea just how expensive these RV units were! Pretty crazy considering that you could get better quality car audio gear for the same price or less.

My goal was to outfit my trailer for less than $200. I started collecting pieces off eBay and spare parts from stuff I had lying around the house. As I started tinkering, the scope of the project got bigger and bigger. I decided that I wanted to go beyond just an A/V replacement and add a digital media hub and some network capability.

I wanted the wireless gear so that I can connect to any freely available wireless access points, my home network, or even my hot spot on my cell phone, and repeat that signal to a private wireless network inside my trailer. DD-WRT is an open source firmware replacement for certain stock routers and access points that can make this happen. It works pretty well and since DD-WRT allows you to increase the output of the radios, I can take a weak signal and amplify for all my other devices.