Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2014, 08:27 PM   #1

Default Dual propane tanks issue

Hi,
I'm new to rv and I'm looking for some help on a propane issue that we experienced on our last camping trip. We recently bought a 2010 Shadow Cruiser, it has dual propane tanks connected to a tee then in a regulator (Fairview GC-9950). We did only open the valve on the passenger side tank for the first trips and everything works well. On our last camping trip, the fridge fails, I tought that the tank was empty, so I shut the valve on the tank we were using and I opened the valve on the second (full) tank. There was no gas flow. I re-open the passenger side tank valve and I heard the fridge lit up. I'm wondering why can I use only the passenger side tank and not only the driver side tank???
When back home, I realize that the passenger side tank wasn't empty! According to its weight, it seems to be half filled. Why can't I use it until empty without opening the valve of the passenger side tank??

Is this normal?
If not, what would be faulty?
Thanks for any help.

anctil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 05:58 AM   #2

When switching propane tanks from left to right, you have to turn the handle on the regulator too.

Old 06-03-2014, 12:30 PM   #3

Yup, there's a "supply" lever on mine that I need to point towards the tank I want to use, as well as ensure the tank is open.
Offspring22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:57 PM   #4

I don't have a handle on the regulator to switch tank, since they are not connected individually to the regulator. They are connected to a tee prior the regulator, which is the only intake to the regulator.
anctil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 08:55 AM   #5
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by anctil