Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-25-2020, 11:11 PM   #1

Default Fridge/Freezer issues

I’ve got a 2011 x 210wbs that I’ve been traveling in full time for a little over 2 years now for work. I recently pulled it back to the house and was getting ready to list it after a renovation, and upgrade to a larger 5th wheel before going back to work in a week or so.

When I pulled in from the drive home, I didn’t want to unhook and level the trailer because it was pouring rain and pitiful weather, and it stayed that way for 2 days before getting around to level it. It was plugged into shore power the entire time.

After leveling the camper on day two of being home, and cleaning some things out, my wife and I immediately started on renovations with the new 5th wheel, and didn’t even bother to do much with the old unit. On day 4, I went into the 210wbs, to get a pocket knife, when I noticed the smell of bad food in the fridge. Opened it up, and behold the stench of spoiled milk, and moldy, corned beef. After immediately emptying the fridge, I shut the unit off for a day, and went back to turn it on. 24 hours of run time, no change in temperature. Switched it over to propane and let it run for 24 hours again, still no change in temperature. I disconnected the thermistor, yet still ambient temperature in both the fridge and freezer.

Went to the breaker, verified voltage, went to the back of the fridge at the control panel, verified voltage from the outlet, and verified again at the heating element. The boiler is definitely getting hot, and the coils feel warm to the touch. I cannot smell ammonia, I cannot see any visual signs of leaks, or hear anything in the system to indicate such, but I also cannot get my fridge and freezer to work.