Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2012, 04:25 PM   #1

Default Leak around water heater

Hi! I just bought a used Fun Finder shadow cruiser a couple of weeks ago, and I'm really loving it so far. However, I'm a complete newb, so I'm still trying to figure out everything. Last night I ran into a serious problem, and I'm curious if anyone has any input on a potential solution.

Last night we had a really terrible thunderstorm (tornado warnings across the state, that sort of thing) with really high winds. During the worst part of the storm, water started coming out onto the floor from under the bed! When I investigated to discover the source of the leak, I found water seemed to be coming in around the water heater.

I did the best I could to prevent any serious water damage, and then this morning I went out to investigate the problem, but I'm still having trouble deciding where the water is coming in. It seems that the water heater panel is pretty flimsy. Is it possible that the leak occurred because of the wind catching this panel and pulling it up? This seems very likely, because when I pull at the panel, it opens a gap of about 3/4 inch.

I'd appreciate any input. My first instinct is to go ahead and recaulk the edges where the caulk is starting to wear (even though it doesn't seem cracked or compromised, yet), and maybe get some thin weather stripping to seal that panel and help keep the rain out. It doesn't seem like there is or ever was anything designed to keep water out of this compartment, but even if it's supposed to be water tight under the panel, wouldn't it be bad for water to get onto the wiring, etc, that is under the panel?

Okay, hopefully this question wasn't too dumb! Thanks.

mysteriousem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:11 PM   #2

Default Water heater leak -- which panel?

First, that is not a dumb question!