Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-12-2013, 06:01 PM   #1

Default Solar Battery Charger

OK so I searched all over cant really find directly related to my question.

I have an XT-245 & I am wondering if anyone out there has a good Battery Charger setup using Solar power. Basically something to maintain the Batteries while camper is unused or stored in the yard. I dont want it to be wimpy because When I dry camp Imight want to hook it up to maintain the batteries for me during the week or 2 we are dry camping. I have a generator just looking for something to use solar not real big & bulky I have no ideas about Watts & I think I need a controller so to keep my battery from over chanrging or uncharging while no sun is up. But again I am new to this whole Solar idea but think I want to start someplace so I figured camper would be a good start.

Thoughts ideas or links would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any information

PattyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:32 AM   #2
Site Team

You are really looking at 2 different applications. You don't much to maintain the battery while the trailer is not use. I have a small solar panel that attaches to the battery with alligator clips that is about the size of an I-pad. It will maintain a battery that is already charged while the battery is sitting. But this will never be sufficient to recharge the battery from use from dry-camping.

Other than what I have read, I don't have any personal experience with solar panel systems that have the capability to do what you're looking for. Here's a link to site that can give you some background info on the type of system you're looking for. It is a site that sells systems so it's full of ads for their product, but has some good info.

http://www.solar-power-4u.com/category/rv-solar-2

LJAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:08 AM   #3