Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2019, 09:22 AM   #1

Default Solar panels

Anyone have suggestions on type and wattage of solar panels to use as a trickle charger for the battery? There are a couple of (35 watt each) panels that I could probably get for cheap but not sure if they'd be adequate. Sorry, I'm a newbie.

MissMabel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 07:32 AM   #2

you want at least 100 watts. about 7 amps. 35 watts is only 2.3 amps. Not enough to charge a battery.

team dougherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 01:23 PM   #3

We use a 120 W portable panel – it provides all the juice we need while we are camping. But we are "minimal" users of electricity, so you'd have to take that into account.
profdant139 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:50 AM   #4

Well - my two cents - you've asked if a 35-watt solar panel could be used as a trickle charger. I'll go with yes! Meaning - you are in a near zero draw, not using any power, the camper is in storage and you just want to prevent the battery from dying. BUT - if you expect to take the trickle charger setup camping with you, use your batteries at night (lights, pump, heater fan, etc.) then have the solar trickle charger fully charge your battery during the day so you can use it the following night; I don't think it will work. You will need a larger system (panel(s) and solar charge controller.)
runner421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 01:00 PM   #5

Renogy Suitcase solar setup, 100 w. great unit.
seismo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 05:17 PM   #6

I bought a 100watt panel and controller on eBay installed on roof above storage compartment ran wires inside closet above storage keeps battery fully charged can go out and run slides etc no problems avg. volts 18+
rockport96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 07:45 PM   #7