Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-11-2009, 11:44 AM   #1

Default 2006 X210 and a 3.3 litre Grand Caravan?

Hi all. It's my first post - nice to be here!

We saw a great 2006 X210 yesterday and we were told our 3.3 litre engine Grand Caravan could pull it with the tow package installed. This was a surprise to us as we didn't think we could handle that kind of weight.

Is this a reasonable combination of tow vehicle and trailer? Has anyone else had this setup (or something close)? How did it work out? Is there anything we need to do or beware of?

This is our first RV of any kind, so we're complete newbies. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, and hello to all!

Jim and Kelly

Old 11-11-2009, 09:56 AM   #2

Hello Jim&Kelly,

I just found the site today, logged in and saw your post. The answer to your question really depends on your expectation. Most would probably say that it's over the top to try and pull with a mini van. Having said that I have a 189 and tow it with a Chevy Venture (3.4L). It really depends on your expectations.

We bought our trailer in '08 and have pulled it about ~2000 miles on 8 or so trips covering Maryland, Virginia, West Virgina, and North Carolina. I take it real easy which means top speed of 60 and 45 up hills. I the trip computers fuel consumption and temperature to make sure I am not working the old girl too hard.

Our decision matrix included a strong desire to keep non towing MPG above 20 with seating for at least 6. We also didn't want to buy another vehicle. The trade is slower pace. I'll have to say that in the past year I have only seen one other person on the roads pulling this size camper with a mini van.

Hope this helps.

MikeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 10:56 AM   #3
Site Team