Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-24-2013, 12:16 AM   #1

Default fine tune on Brake control while driving?

Hi There,
I am new to TT, and a new owner of 189FDS. I am wondering after the brake control being properly set, do I need to fine tune it for the up hill vs down hill drive? Or city vs highway drive?

Thanks in advance for the advise.
Wei

2006wei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 06:18 AM   #2

I set mine up per the instructions that came with the brake controller and leave it there.

IF ever additional braking on the trailer is necessary, one can always use the manual override ..... use the lever on the brake controller to apply more braking on the trailer.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Old 09-24-2013, 06:25 AM   #3
roy

I just test it with manual arm on controller rolling slow then use arm to stop entire vehicle with trailer brakes. Once that is established I'm good to roll. If the arm brake won't stop entire vehicle simply add more amperage on controller or less what ever the case may be. I still use the manual brake at times to ease the strain on the truck brakes. I mounted my controller so I can access it with ease using my left hand.

WERA Expert #826
roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 05:26 PM   #4

You don't mention what trailer you have or what brake controller you are using, but...