Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2012, 08:58 PM   #1

Default Ford Expidition 5.4L 4x4 without HD tow kit

Hi All,

I am new to this and could really use an unbiased opinion. I have limited towing experience hauling ATVs and construction equipment.

My question is what is the largest practical TT with a 2011 Expidition 5.4L 4x4, non-EL and without the HD tow kit. I realize one of the main limiting factors is the hitch weight but I am also concerned about sway.

Looking at installing a Ford brake controller that integrates with the trucks electronic Sway Control system and at least a transmission cooler. Also looking at a Hensley style WD hitch to prevent sway.

Is it realistic to expect to comfortably tow a S-280QBS or V-28BHSS with 3 kids all under 8 and a wife that likes to travel heavy?

Another less favorable option is a S-261BH. Basically I am looking for the largest bunk house that will be safe to tow with the Expidition.

Old 04-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #2

I probally should add some details about the TTs.

S-280QBS: 32' with a yellow sticker dry weight ~5,400lbs

V-28BHSS: 32' with a yellow sticker dry weight ~5,500lbs

S-261BH: 30' with a yellow sticker dry weight ~4,700lbs

Of course a WD hitch and loading would be used to adjust the hitch weight to ~12% of loade TT weight.

Old 04-30-2012, 09:24 AM   #3
Site Team