Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-22-2013, 01:54 PM   #1

Default Newb towing questions

Hi all, first post here, we're about to purchase a 2003 T160 Shadow Cruiser Funfinder and I'm pretty new to towing. the trailer weight is ~3600 according to the current owner (that's supposedly actual weight with everything in it). We live in the mountains, lots of long climbs and descents.

TV: 2007 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab, with a towing capacity of ~6000lbs. I don't believe it has any special "tow package". I did have a 7 pin round connector installed for my last camper.

My only experience towing is with a small popup and a 13' Scamp, both of those we just hooked up the hitch ball and drove. So I know nothing of things I hear about like trailer brakes, weight distributing hitches, sway bars, etc. I do know that it's way more complicated than "3600<6000, so I'm good to go".

Questions:
  1. * Is my TV sufficient for this trailer?
    * Do I need a brake controller? Are these standard, ie whatever I get will be compatible with the trailer brakes, or do I need to get a certain kind? What do these cost, installed? How do they work: are they automatic, or do I operate it?
    * Do I need a weight distribution hitch and/or sway bar? Is that something that comes with the trailer or is it something I buy? Do I need to get it installed or is it just something that attaches easily (I'm not handy, so if it involves more than a screwdriver, I'm in trouble)?
    * What else do I need to know about pulling a heavy trailer like this (I realize it may not seem heavy to you)?

Thanks in advance!

LurkerDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:25 PM   #2
Site Team