Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   FunfinderClub > Fun Finder Tech > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-05-2013, 10:12 PM   #1

Default XTRA XT-300/2008 Ford E350

I am new to larger trailer towing. I am borrowing a 2013 FunFinder Xtra XT-300. The specs state that it has a dry weight of 7290 pounds and a hitch weight of 1210 pounds. I have a 2008 Ford E350 Extended cargo can with a 5.4, 3.73 axle and towing package. I have learned that the max trailer towing is 7500 pounds with a tongue weight of 500 pounds. I have a weight distribution hitch with a 10,000 pound capacity. I pulled this trailer home empty and it was not good. I had little control of the front end and the rear end was dragging quite low.

Will adding toy cargo balance to load?
Am I over capacity?
If so, what would be a better choice?

crashmonkey85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:46 AM   #2
roy

Sounds like the weight distribution hitch is not set correctly for the tow vehicle. However you are at or slightly above the limits of the vehicle in terms of numbers. Still even at that you should be able to level the vehicle with a correctly set hitch.

I didn't know they made a XT-300 until I read your post. That's an interesting floor plan on that unit. I'm not real crazy about the kitchen slide out which appears it would hinder the slope adjustment capability of the awning.

That thing is pretty heavy at 7290 dry and I bet its actually heavier if it were weighed on CAT scales. I own a XT-276 and its dry weight is listed at 5485 but I suspect its heavier but have not weighed it yet. Always in to big a hurry to run it through the scales.