Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-24-2012, 11:27 AM   #1

Default Insurance on a toy hauler ?

Any suggestions on insuring a toy hauler?

Companies to avoid or get quotes from?

Appx cost on a $20,000 - $25,000 toy hauler?

What to look for in a policy and/or what you may not need the agent will try and sell you?

Knowledge is power so any input appreciated.

Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 11:54 AM   #2
Site Team

I've no experience with insuring a toy hauler, but it would think it wouldn't be drastically different from other trailers. With the caveat that the value of the 'toys' being carried potentially changes the game somewhat. So you need to evaluate how those are covered.

Personally, I have a policy with Farmers that includes both my boat & trailer, so I get a bit of discount from the combined policy. You may want to check to see if you have a similar option with current auto insurance carrier. That way you have some idea of the level of service. I have no beef with Farmers, on the other hand I haven't filed any claims either.

I know Good Sam Club offers insurance and they claim that since they only insure RVs. trailers, and the like that they understand the needs better and therefore have better coverage for the cost. It sounds plausible and I've heard some good things from other people on forums but I have no personal experience with them - one way or the other.

LJAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 06:24 PM   #3

If I were a betting man, I would say that most insurance companies would require you to have a separate policy on the "toys".