Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2019, 01:33 PM   #1

Default Need To Check Air Conditioning Before A Trip

Hello everyone!
I am a newbie and will be taking my 2005 Funfinder M139 out for the first time next weekend. My question is can I plug my 30 amp into my home electrical to see if need to service the air condioning unit before I leave. A guy from the trailer source said I could plug it in a dryer plug which is 30 amp. Is this true? Thanks in advance!

Kim

Jazzedkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 04:13 PM   #2

Actually, you can even plug it into an ordinary 20 amp circuit and run the a/c, with a few precautions. First, use a heavy duty extension cord. Second, the adapter that connects the trailer's power cord to the extension cord has to be heavy duty -- otherwise, it is the weakest link and will act sort of like a bottleneck.

Third, once you plug in your trailer and get ready to run the a/c, test your voltage. Use your multimeter (very inexpensive item) and stick the prongs into a power socket in the trailer. (Watch a youtube video if you don't know how to do that -- it is not difficult at all.)

If your voltage is at 110 or more, you are good to go. Fire up the a/c and test the voltage again. As long as it is 110 or better, no problem. If less than 110, turn off the a/c.

And if you plug it into a 30 amp circuit, again just make sure that whatever adapter you use is up to the task.

Let us know how it goes!

Old 08-11-2019, 09:37 AM   #3
Site Team

Whatever you do DO NOT PLUG INTO THE DRYER PLUG! That is 240V and will damage your trailers electrical system.

You can use an adapter to plug into a standard outlet, but they are usually 15 amp which probably won't be enough to run the AC. You can tell by looking at your breaker panel and the circuit breakers should be marked with the amperage.