Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   FunfinderClub > Fun Finder Tech > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-08-2013, 04:26 AM   #1

Default Towing with a Chev Tahoe

Hello Everyone:
I'm quite new to the RV world. I purchased a pre-owned 2011 Cruiser RV VF 21FB in April. I did as much research as I could and was reassured that my 2012 Chev Tahoe would tow this TT with no problem. While this is generally true on 2 lane roads and suburbdan streets, I'm finding that on the Interstate I cannot exceed 55-60 MPH without feeling quite unstable. The Semi-trucks pull the TT/Tahoe around and I expect that based on what I've read. But even when there's no obvious influence from other trucks, the towing just feels generally unstable. I do have the stabilizer bars and the entire hitch setup was inspected by a reputable dealer. Is the WB on the Tahoe just to short to handle the Viewfinder? Dry weight is supposedly ~4600# and I supposed that with all the load I've added it's closer to 5200#. The Tahoe is rated at 6300#.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Pam

phunter408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 10:02 AM   #2

Default Towing with Tahoe

phunter408 what type of anti sway bar are you using? Did you tighten it properly? Also, did you tighten the load leveling bars correctly? Is your rig level after tightening the load leveling bars?

Old 06-11-2013, 10:49 AM   #3
M&M

Default Tahoe

As you say, a longer wheelbase vehicle would likely be more stable. However, you might not want to give up on the Tahoe without some more thought and tinkering.

Are you using a sway control device in addition to the weight equalizing hitch? Depending on the hitch, this may be a separate device from the weight distributing hitch, but is probably essential for your set up.